Asian Tennis Update

<< April 2010 >>
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
 01 02 03
04 05 06 07 08 09 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30
If you want to be updated on this weblog Enter your email here:


rss feed

Wednesday, April 21, 2010
Vazirani All India Talent Series Results

Vazirani All India Talent Series & Maharashtra State

Ranking Junior Tennis Tournament

19th to 23rd April, 2010

Vazirani National Sports Academy, Nerul



Tanya shocks top seed Jinisha Patel


Girlsí under-14 top seed Jinisha Patel and boysí under-14 third seed Ahaan Tagare crashed in the pre-quarter-finals of the Vazirani All India Talent Series & Maharashtra State Ranking Junior Tennis Tournament, at the Vazirani National Sports Academy, Nerul on Tuesday.


Patel, of Belapur, Navi Mumbai was the biggest casualty in the competition so far after unseeded Tanya Madhok rallied to a thrilling 8-6 (7-5) win to storm into the quarter-finals.


Underdog Madhok surged to a surprise 6-3 lead and was well in command while dominating with a powerful backhand. But Patel relied on experience to fight her way back into the match while snatching four points in a row for a 7-6 lead and reached match point at 40-0.


Patelís envious position could have demoralised any opponent but Madhok believed in herself to force deuce to draw level and push the match into the tie-breaker. Patel was up 4-1 in the tie-breaker but Madhok levelled at 4-4 before the former again took the lead at 5-4.


But once Madhok made it 5-5 with a winner she was on fire and snatched the next two points to seal Patelís fate.


In the second upset of the day, Ahaan Tagare also made a premature exit after going down to upcoming and the much improved Vatsin Thaker 4-8.


Results (PQF): Girls U-14: Tanya Madhok bt Jinisha Patel 8-6 (7-5); D. Lalita (AP) bt Davina Chhabra 8-0; Snehal Mane (Pune) bt Priyangana Seth (Surat) 8-0; Aastha Dargude bt Avani Patel (Guj) 8-5; Tanasha Khandapur bt Kaavya Nair 8-5; Nida Kamal bt Gauri Kinekar 8-4; Shrishti Daas (Pune) bt Saloni Ghodke 8-5; Hemali Shinde (Pune) bt Swany Kaji 8-3.


Under-12 (1st Rd): Snehal Mane (Pune) bt Aastha Dargude 8-2; Rea Barve bt Anandita Saxena 8-1; Priyangana Seth (Surat) bt Ankita Sahu 8-1; Saloni Ghodke bt Gauri Kinekar 8-2; Tanya Madhok bt Ishwari Seth (Surat) 8-1; Shrishti Ray bt Tejas Kulkarni 8-0; Sanjeevani Patil bt Nisha Waghmare 8-7 (8-6); Rea Banka bt Simran Gawli 8-3; Nida Kamal bt Kritika Chhabra 8-0; Visaya Bamba bt Ankita Patil 8-1; Serah Menezes bt Alka Joseph 8-6; Dakshata Patel bt Meghana Injeti 8-1; Shrishti Daas (Pune) bt Pareen Shivekar 8-4; Aayush Jain bt Shireen Dotiwala 8-3; Vedika Jogani bt Yashika Shetty 8-3; D. Lalita (Hyderabad) bt Anaiya Kaka 8-0.


Boys U-14: Yash Manoj Agarwal bt Sunny Khandare 8-1; Rohan Puri bt Poojan Desai 8-3; Mohd. Vali bt Krishna Chavan (Sangli) 8-1; Kshiteej Prasad bt Jai Mendonca 8-1; Neil Thanawala bt Shikar Raj 8-6; Vatsin Thakker bt Ahaan Tagare 8-4; Varunraj Salunkhe bt Vanshal DíSouza 8-3; Neil Lapalikar (Pune) bt Denis Jayachandran 8-5.



Wednesday: 7.30 a.m. Quarter-finals (Vazirani All India Talent Series at Vazirani National Sports Academy, Nerul)

Posted at 11:48 am by TennisPro


Leave a Comment:


Homepage (optional)


Previous Entry Home